1855 Classification of Bordeaux


The official classification of Bordeaux wines of 1855 is the baseline established at the time at the request of Emperor Napoleon III for the Exposition Universelle(International Exhibition) of 1855 .

Bordeaux’s Chamber of Commerce trading near Bordeaux received a letter dated asking “to kindly send us the exact well and good complete list of all red wines classified department  also classification for white wines”. These brokers established a classification based on the reputation of the château`s and the price of their production on the basis of a tradition of two centuries of informal classification, which at the time were directly related to the quality.

The wines were classified in importance from first to fifth growths (crus). All red came from the region of Médoc except Château Haut-Brion produced in the Graves . White wines limited to the sweet varieties of Sauternes and Barsac were classified and only the first and second growth.

Published his classification has undergone two changes since the rankings: Château Cantemerle was added as a fifth growth in 1973, the Château Mouton Rothschild moved from second to first growth. Since then, the vineyards have changed size, without this being considered.

Many of the best wines of the appellation Médoc that were not included in the 1855 classification are classified as Cru Bourgeois , a classification system that has been updated regularly since 1932, banned in 2007 but it is likely that was reintroduced in 2009.

The list below is the current version of the classification.

  • Château Lafite Rothschild, Pauillac
  • Château Latour, Pauillac
  • Château Margaux, Margaux
  • Château Haut-Brion, Graves
  • Château Mouton Rothschild, Pauillac

  • Château Cos d’Estournel, St.-Estèphe
  • Château Montrose, St.-Estèphe
  • Château Pichon Longueville Baron, Pauillac
  • Château Pichon Longueville Comtesse de Lalande, Pauillac
  • Château Léoville-Las Cases, St.-Julien

  • Château Léoville-Poyferré, St.-Julien
  • Château Léoville Barton, St.-Julien
  • Château Gruaud-Larose, St.-Julien
  • Château Ducru-Beaucaillou, St.-Julien
  • Château Rauzan-Ségla, Margaux
  • Château Rauzan-Gassies, Margaux
  • Château Durfort-Vivens, Margaux
  • Château Lascombes, Margaux
  • Château Brane-Cantenac, Cantenac-Margaux (Margaux)

  • Château Calon-Ségur, St.-Estèphe
  • Château Lagrange, St.-Julien
  • Château Langoa Barton, St.-Julien
  • Château Malescot St. Exupéry, Margaux
  • Château Desmirail, Margaux
  • Château Ferrière, Margaux
  • Château Marquis d’Alesme Becker, Margaux
  • Château Kirwan, Cantenac-Margaux (Margaux)
  • Château d’Issan, Cantenac-Margaux (Margaux)
  • Château Boyd-Cantenac, Cantenac-Margaux (Margaux)
  • Château Cantenac-Brown, Cantenac-Margaux (Margaux)
  • Château Palmer, Cantenac-Margaux (Margaux)
  • Château Giscours, Labarde-Margaux (Margaux)
  • Château La Lagune, Ludon (Haut-Medoc)

    • Château Cos Labory, St.-Estèphe
    • Château Pontet-Canet, Pauillac
    • Château Batailley, Pauillac
    • Château Haut-Batailley, Pauillac
    • Château Haut-Bages-Libéral, Pauillac
    • Château Grand-Puy-Lacoste, Pauillac
    • Château Grand-Puy-Ducasse, Pauillac
    • Château Lynch-Bages, Pauillac
    • Château Lynch-Moussas, Pauillac
    • Château d’Armailhac, Pauillac
    • Château Pédesclaux, Pauillac
    • Château Clerc-Milon, Pauillac
    • Château Croizet Bages, Pauillac
    • Château Dauzac, Labarde (Margaux)
    • Château du Tertre, Arsac (Margaux)
    • Château Belgrave, St.-Laurent (Haut-Médoc)
    • Château de Camensac, St.-Laurent (Haut-Médoc)
    • Château Cantemerle, Macau (Haut-Médoc)

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment

Next post:

Previous post: